Stony Brook Faculty

The vast majority of Stony Brook's faculty members hold doctoral degrees and are engaged in active research leading to publication, much of it supported by external grants and contracts. It was the productivity and high quality of our faculty that helped earn Stony Brook a ranking among the best public universities in the country.

Eminent faculty members include numerous internationally recognized scholars. Many have earned high honors in their fields, such as Einstein and Distinguished Professor Emeritus C.N. Yang, Nobel laureate in Physics; John Milnor, Distinguished Professor, holder of the prestigious Fields Medal, and Director of the Institute for Math­ematical Sciences; Gail Mandel, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator; and University Professor John H. Mar­burger in Physics and Electrical Engine­ering, former president of Stony Brook University.

Distinguished Professors John Fleagle in Anatomical Sciences; James Glimm in Applied Mathematics and Statistics; Donald Kuspit in Art; William Lennarz and Rolf Sternglanz in Biochemistry and Cell Biology; Clint Rubin in Biomedical Engineering; Benjamin Chu and Iwao Ojima in Chem­istry; Arie Kaufman in Computer Science; Lorne M. Golub in Dental Medicine; Douglas Futuyma, Jeffrey Levinton, and James Rohlf in Ecology and Evolution; Armen Zemanian in Electrical Engine­ering; Gregory Belenky and Serge Luryi in Electrical and Computer Engineering; E. Ann Kaplan and Roger Rosenblatt in English; Donald Weidner and John Parisi in Geo­sciences; Herman Lebovics in History; Mark Aronoff in Linguistics; Robert Aller, Nicholas Fisher, and Cindy Lee in the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences; Miriam Rafailovich in Materials Science and Engineering; H. Blaine Lawson Jr., Dusa McDuff, John Milnor, and Dennis Sullivan in Mathematics; Fu-Pen Chiang in Mechanical Engineering; Sami Said in Medicine; Eckard A.F. Wimmer in Molecular Genetics and Microbiology; Gilbert Kalish in Music; Gail Mandel and Lorne Mendell in Neurobiology and Behavior; Israel Kleinberg in Oral Biology and Pathology; Arthur Grollman in Pharmacological Sciences; Edward S. Casey, Richard Howard, and Don Ihde in Philosophy; Gerald E. Brown, Barry McCoy, George Sterman, and Peter van Nieuwenhuizen in the C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics; Barbara Jacak, Janos Kirz, Konstantin K. Likharev, Edward Shuryak, Philip Solomon, and Gene Sprouse in Physics and Astronomy; Mark Schneider and Jeffrey Segal in Political Science; M. Christina Leske in Preventive Medicine; Arthur A. Stone in Psychiatry; Marvin Goldfried and K. Daniel O'Leary in Psychology; and Stephen Cole in Sociology.

Distinguished Professors Emeriti Paul Poppers in Anesthesiology; Jacob Bigeleisen and George Stell in Chemistry; Louis W. Ripa Jr. in Children's Dentistry; Theodosios Pavlidis in Computer Science; Robert Sokal in Ecology and Evolution; Louis Simpson in English; Donald Lindsley in Geosciences; Joel Rosenthal in History; Robert Cess in the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences; Herbert Herman in Materials Science and Engineering; Charles Rosen in Music; Seymour Cohen and Edward Reich in Pharmacological Sciences; Paul Grannis and C.N. Yang in Physics and Astronomy; William Van der Kloot in Physiology and Biophysics; Milton Lodge in Political Science; Howard Rachlin in Psychology; Morton Meyers in Radiology; and John Gagnon in Sociology.

Distinguished Teaching Professors S. Vitkun in Anaesthesiology; William Jungers and Jack Stern in Anatomical Sciences; Alan Tucker in Applied Mathematics and Statistics; Robert Kerber in Chemistry; Fred Ferguson in Children's Dentistry; H. Barry Waldman in General Dentistry; Michael Barnhart in History; Patrick Grim and Helen Rodnite Lemay in Philosophy; Thomas Hemmick and Harold Metcalf in Physics and Astronomy; Frank Myers in Political Science; Norman Goodman in Sociology; and Jonathan F. Levy in Theatre Arts.

Distinguished Teaching Professors Emeriti Elof Carlson in Biochemistry and Cell Biology; S. Stanley Alexander in Dental Medicine; Homer Goldberg and Rose Zimbardo in English; Barbara Elling in Germanic and Slavic Lan­guages and Literatures; Judith Tanur in Sociology; Thomas Liao and John Truxal in Technology and Society; and John Truxal in Technology and Society.

Distinguished Service Professors David Krause in Anatomical Sciences; David Hanson in Chemistry; Mario Mignone in European Languages and Cultures; Gilbert Hanson and Robert Liebermann in Geosciences; Malcolm Bowman in the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences; Marie Gelato in Medicine; Richard Fine in Pediatrics; Vincent Iacono in Periodontics; Peter Paul in Physics and Astronomy; Dorothy Lane in Preventive Medicine; M. Christina Leske in Pre­ventive Medicine; Said Arjomand and Norman Goodman in Sociology; and David Ferguson and Lester Paldy in Technology and Society.

Distinguished Service Professors Emeriti Stanley Alexander in Dental Medicine; Velio Marsocci in Electrical Engineering; Robert Cess in the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences; J.R. Schubel, former Dean and Director of the Marine Scien­ces Research Center; Irwin Kra in Mathe­matics; Barry Coller in Medicine and Pathology; Sidney Gelber in Philosophy; and Eli Seifman, Social Sciences Inter­disciplinary and Director Emeritus of the Center for Excellence and Inno­vation in Education.