Physics (PHY)

Major and Minor in Physics

Department of Physics and Astronomy, College of Arts and Sciences

Chairperson: Laszlo Mihaly

Assistant to the Chair: Nathan Leoce-Schappin

Director of Undergraduate Studies: Abhay Deshpande

Assistant to the Director: Diane Diaferia

Astronomy Coordinator: James Lattimer

Office: P-110 Physics
Phone: (631) 632-8036, 632-8100

Web address:

Minors of particular interest to students majoring in Physics: Astronomy (AST), Computer Science (CSE), Electrical Engineering (ESE), Materials Science (ESM), Mathematics (MAT), Nanotechnology Studies (NTS), Science and Engineering (LSE)