Officers of Administration

Samuel L. Stanley Jr., M.D., President

Dennis N. Assanis, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Benjamin S. Hsiao, Vice President for Research

Peter Baigent, Vice President for Student Affairs

Dexter Bailey, Vice President for Advancement

Barbara Chernow, Vice President for Facilities and Services

Elaine Crosson, Vice President for External Relations

Lyle Gomes, Vice President for Finance and Chief Budget Officer

Matthew Whelan, Vice President for Strategic Initiatives

Susan Blum, Senior Counsel in Charge

Tonjanita Johnson, Chief Deputy to the President

Chuck Powell, Interim Chief Information Officer

Kenneth Kaushansky, M.D., Dean School of Medicine and Senior Vice President of Health Sciences

Lee Anne Xippolitos, Dean, School of Nursing

Charles Robbins, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean of the Undergraduate Colleges

Nancy Squires, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Minghua Zhang, Dean, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

Manuel London, Dean, School of Business

Howard Schneider, Dean, School of Journalism

Frances Brisbane, Dean, School of Social Welfare

Craig Lehmann, Dean, School of Health Technology and Management

Ray Williams, Dean, School of Dental Medicine

Paul Edelson, Dean, School of Professional Development

William Arens, Dean, International Academic Programs

Charles Taber, Interim Dean, Graduate School

Yacov Shamash, Vice President for Economic Development and Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences

L. Reuven Pasternak, M.D, Chief Executive Officer and Vice President for Health Systems of Stony Brook University Hospital

Board of Trustees

H. Carl McCall, Chair

Joseph Belluck

Henrik Dullea 

Ronald G. Ehrenberg

Angelo Fatta

Tina Good

Stephen J. Hunt

Eunice Ashman Lewin

Marshall Lichtman

John Murad

Kenneth O'Brien

Kevin Rea

Linda Sanford

Richard Socarides

Carl Spielvogel

Cary Staller

Gerri Warren-Merrick










Members of the Council

Subject to the powers of State University trustees defined by law, the operations and affairs of Stony Brook University are supervised locally by a council. The council is appointed by the Governor, with the exception of a student member who has all the rights and responsibilities of the other members, and who is elected by the student body.

Kevin Law, Chair

Leonard A. Benedict

John J. Corrado

Robert H. Flynn

Jeanne Y. Garant

Jeanne Y. Garant

Louis T. Howard

Anna Lubitz

Jim Morgo

Frank C. Trotta

Diana Weir

⇐ Athletics |  ⇑ About Stony Brook ⇑  | The Campus ⇒